Blood Command announce artwork and tracklisting for new album ‘Cult Drugs’






For all press enquiries please contact Will Vincent on or +441223 505328

Previous praise for Blood Command:

“Funeral Beach is the sort of album you hear and think ‘Holy Scheisse’, Blood Command, where have you been all my life?” – Kerrang (KKKKK)​

“Blood Command have combined driving anthemia, lacerating stabs of guitar-hammering ferocity, thunderous percussive workouts and a vocalist capable of carrying both a pristine melodic hook and a glass-shattering scream, to produce a body of work which simply screams ‘rock stars’.”
– Rock Sound

“Blood Command have the uncanny ability to sound startlingly fresh and new, while never jumping too far to land on that dreaded island of ‘quirky’. Funeral Beach is a fiercely unique, invigorating slab of catchy punk’n’roll, and it demands your full, ongoing attention.” – Metal Hammer (9/10)

“In reality, where only good jams matter, Blood Command is fucking awesome!”– Metalsucks


Following the recent announcement of their first record in five years and their new single ‘Cult Drugs’, Blood Command have now announced the artwork and tracklisting for their forthcoming album ‘Cult Drugs’.

The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Ctrl + Art + Delete
2. Cult Drugs
3. Quitters Don´t Smoke
4. Nervous Laughter
5. Gang Signs
6. You Can’t Sit With Us
7. The Secret Impresses No One
8. White Skin // Tanned Teeth
9. Initiation Tape #1
10. (The World Covered In) Purple Shrouds

The band recently premiered their first single ‘ Cult Drugs’ with Upset.

Speaking about the single the band said, “‘Cult Drugs’ is about the reasons you think you have to do or mean something. The eternal chase for acceptance and glory lurking behind your words and appearance. Everybody’s got a secret agenda. Trust no one!”

New album due out 28th April 2017
Pre-order via Fysisk Format HERE.

After two albums, numerous EPs and four radio hits, Blood Command are hungrier for success than ever. The sound still has the distinct fingerprint of producer and songwriter Yngve Andersen: Sharp and challenging, but still so universal and seductive that you will throw your hands in the air and run into the crowd before the first chorus ends. Since the last album, Andersen has received wide recognition in Norway as a successful producer and is responsible for several local hits. But Blood Command remains his favourite pet and Cult Drugs might be the point where all of his talents finally hit their zenith.

The band’s previous album, ‘Funeral Beach’ (2012) received a 5/5 in Kerrang (who also placed them at no. 8 in their end of year list), 9/10 in Rock Sound, 5/6 in most Norwegian broadsheets. Metal Hammer UK awarded the album a 9/10, saying that Blood Command is one of the best they have heard in recent years. In 2010, Blood Command was nominated for a Norwegian Grammy for their debut album ‘Ghostclocks’.

Blood Command have played numerous festivals such as Roskilde, Nova Rock in Austria (where they shared the stage with, among others, Iron Maiden) and The Great Escape in Brighton, where they won the “Best Concert of the Year” in Artrocker Magazine.

The band have regularly played across Europe and have undertaken support tours with Biffy Clyro and Protest the Hero among others.

Blood Command’s reappearance shows a band that has never sounded as good as now. Singer Karina Ljone is angrier and more accurate than ever, the complexing-riffing is smoother and drummer Sigurd Haakaas sets new standards in action-drumming. The album is mixed and mastered by Blood Command’s long-time collaborator Dagger, who together with producer Yngve Andersen has made sure that the album comes together as a relentless sting of murderous hooks.

Musically, the band reference Refused and Boney M as the main inspiration, alongside acts like The Clash, “We’re making a sonic revolution you can dance to!” boasts Andersen.

In recent years, the band has binged on rave culture and charismatic cults like Heaven’s Gate. Inspired by this and the increasing political manipulation taking place in both Europe and the US, the lyrics and the themes of Cult Drugs took form. Blood Command-main man Yngve Andersen, who himself was part of a Christian charismatic group in his youth, generally holds a positive view on non-mainstream religious groupings: “If it makes you happy and you don’t hurt anyone else, you can worship your cat as far as I’m concerned.”

Andersen elaborates: “The title Cult Drugs comes from the realization that we’re all in some ways part of a cult that informs our way of being and our ways of thinking. We’re programmed to perceive ourselves as the good guys, no matter what side we’re on. Most people live with a self-manipulation so extensive that it can compare to drug addiction. It is easy to put a stigma on religious outcasts, but it’s time to admit that every human, to some extent, live in denial.”

So, the difference between “cult people” and “normal people” could be smaller than you think. Particularly when you’re exposed to the seducing power of music. What could appear as a perfectly ordinary rock album, might prove to be a gateway to powers beyond your control.